Important Laws for Bay Area Employers and Employees
One of the challenges that any San Francisco employment lawyer faces is the challenge of educating clients about ever-changing legal rules.
On January 1, 2013, a variety of new laws went into effect in the Golden State. They pertain to diverse areas, including worker access to records, employee social media, and anti-discrimination issues. The 2013 laws also specifically impact farm labor and temp employees. Continue reading
As a Bay Area employee, you want to get down to work and to avoid creating friction with a new boss. However, if you too rapidly sign an arbitration agreement, you could limit your rights and remedies, if you ever suffer discrimination or lose your job due to unfair or dubious circumstances. When you agree to arbitration, you often give up your right to settle disputes via lawsuit. This means that you will not get to take your case before a jury or judge. Continue reading
Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA)
The Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA) is a powerful federal law that provides some (but not all) employees with the ability to take up to 12 weeks off (unpaid) and still be able to keep their jobs and medical benefits. Continue reading
You’re a California employee who has not been compensated fairly. What should you do?
There are two options to consider:
- File a complaint with the California Division of Labor Standards Enforcement (DLSE);
- File a wage and hour lawsuit. Continue reading
You’ve gotten bad news. Perhaps you lost your Bay Area job. Or you got “made redundant.” Or perhaps you left your job of your own volition. In any case, your employer wants you to sign a severance agreement.
What should you do? Do you have to sign? If not, what steps should you take? Continue reading
If you are a San Francisco worker (or employer), you are probably already at least vaguely familiar with the ballot initiative passed in 2006 that guarantees workers paid sick days. This law, which was supported by nearly two-thirds of voters in the city, provides critical support for workers who fall ill. Per the law, for every 30 hours you work, you get to accumulate one hour of paid sick time. If you work for a small business, with 10 or fewer employees, you can accrue five full days of paid sick time annually. If you work at a larger company, you can accrue even more sick days – up to nine annually. Continue reading
Yes, California law requires that employers pay overtime, whether authorized or not, at the rate of one and one-half times the employee’s regular rate of pay for all hours worked in excess of eight up to and including 12 hours in any workday, and for the first eight hours of work on the seventh consecutive day of work in a workweek, and double the employee’s regular rate of pay for all hours worked in excess of 12 in any workday and for all hours worked in excess of eight on the seventh consecutive day of work in a workweek. Continue reading